About Us


National Association of Village Development Committees in Nepal (NAVIN) was established in the year 1995 as an umbrella organization of 3157 VDCs. It is a representative organization of rural local authorities registered under National Directive Act 1961. NAVIN has successfully established itself as a credible organization in strengthening decentralization process in Nepal. According to the NAVIN Constitution, the core mandates are defined as:

  • Protection and expansion of VDCs rights and interests
  • Sharing of knowledge and experiences among VDCs for the overall development of rural communities
  • Organizational development and institutional strengthening of VDCs for effective public service delivery

 Vision, Mission, Goal and Objective of NAVIN


To be a professional representative organization of VDCs and contribute in developing them as efficient, transparent and responsive local governments


To empower VDCs by representing and promoting their interests and strengthening their institutional capacity for decentralized local self-governance and effective service delivery to the people.


  • Create policies supportive to local self-governance
  • Strengthen VDCs as self-motivated and people oriented organizations


  • Advocate and lobby for legal and policy framework towards local self-governance.
  • Coordinate and share knowledge among VDCs in improving service delivery & resource optimization
  • Build stronger civil society networking for good governance & local democracy

 Organization Structure

NAVIN’s organizational structure has two levels; political structure and professional structure.


Political Structure

This structure has national convention, Central Council, Central Executive Committee and District Chapters. The Executive Committee, which is the main implementing body of NAVIN, is elected through a national convention. A Central Working Committee, comprising of six members of the Executive Committee, acts as the deciding body for day to day activities that the Secretariat personnel carry out.

Professional Structure

Professional Structure: The NAVIN Secretariat forms the professional structure of the organization. It is led by the Executive Director, and has various departments. At present the sections actively working at NAVIN are: Program Planning, Administration and Finance, Information and Advocacy that have horizontal linkages between them. All units report to the Executive Director, who in turn is accountable to the Political Board. Financial Source.

 Financial Source

The main income source of NAVIN is membership fees from VDCs. District chapters collect annual membership fees from respective members of which 50% of the collected amount is gathered in the fund of Central Executive Committee. NAVIN Secretariat also mobilizes external funding support on periodic program basis. It conducts several programs that are supported by donor agencies in its working area of local governance. local governance

Representation in Government Agencies

NAVIN contributes its expertise on local governance in several government agencies: They are as follows:

S.N. Commission, Committee
1.                   1 Decentralization Implementation and Monitoring Committee
2.                   2 Local bodies Fiscal Commission (LBFC)
3. Central Revenue Sharing and Monitoring Committee, Revenue Consultancy Committee
4. Multi Stakeholder Climate Change Coordination Committee
5. Poverty Alleviation Fund
6. Rural Water Supply and Sanitation Fund Development Board
7. Road Board Nepal
8. Child Friendly Local Governance (CFLG) National Committee
9. Informal Education Council
10. Local Development Training Academy (LDTA)
11. Working Committee for improvement planning of LDTA
12. National Development Council
13. National Agriculture Development Committee
14. Operational Committee of Renewable Energy for Rural Livelihood (RERL/AEPC)
15. Advisory Member of Local Good Governance Project implement by Non Government Organization (NGO)
16. Directory Member of Multi stakeholder Forestry Project
17. LGCDP,  National Advisory Committee, Sub- National Advisory Committee,
18. Local Governance Accountability facility (LGAF) National Committee
19. Water Management Committee
20. VDC Level Service Center Coordination Committee
21. District Revenue Consultancy Committee
22. Social Mobilization District Coordination Committee
23. Climate Adaptation Model Program Coordination Committee


Member in International Networks

  • Council Member of United Cities of Local Government Asia-Pacific (UCLG-ASPAC) http:// www.uclg-aspac.org/
  • Council Member of Local Governance Initiative and Network (LOGIN Asia) http://www. loginasia.org/